A request for help

A quick question to my dear readers:

It’s been a very long while since I’ve read any of the books in the Ender’s Game series. Does Orson Scott Card ever give a reason for why the military geniuses of the time were 10-year-olds? Not just Ender, but all of them? It’s not only the military that’s led by children, the political leaders are children, too—if I remember correctly, Peter, Ender’s creepy older brother, ends up becoming King of Earth at the ripe old age of 12.

Do the characters ever make it past the age of 20? What exactly do adults do in Ender’s world? “Well, I’ve finished puberty, it’s all downhill for the next 50 years.”

2 Comments

  1. I only skimmed through the book at the library ages ago, and all I remember is something about kids being “quicker” and more flexible-minded and agile etc. unlike clumsy, thick-fingered, hidebound adults. Considering how clumsy I was as a child, and how not agile (I couldn’t even sit cross-legged very well), and how small-minded and prejudiced and fearful of change most kids are (as I was), I just laugh now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

